Data is only retained for 30 days from date of deactivation after which it is deleted. Twitter retains its licence to use any content you post (see discussion on the licence in this post).
Is deactivating twitter the same as deleting?
Is deactivating the same as deleting? No. Think of deactivating your account as a way to signal to Twitter that they should delete it. Within minutes of you deactivating it, Twitter will remove your data from their website and place your account in a queue for permanent deletion.
What happens when you delete a twitter account?
After your 30-day deactivation window, your Twitter account is permanently deleted. When you don’t log into your account during the 30-day window, it lets us know you want to permanently delete your Twitter account. Once your account is deleted, your account is no longer available in our systems.
Can you reactivate a twitter account after deleting it?
Help with account reactivation
Deactivated accounts can be reactivated within 30 days of deactivation by logging in with the account username (or email address) and password on twitter.com or through your Twitter for iOS or Android app.
Does deleting your twitter delete messages?
When you delete a Direct Message or conversation (sent or received), it is deleted from your account only. Others in the conversation will still be able to see Direct Messages or conversations that you have deleted. … When you share media in a Direct Message, it will be viewable by everyone in the conversation.
How do I hide my twitter account?
You can get there by clicking on the small circular profile picture icon in the top right and then clicking Settings and Privacy. Next, from the menu on the left, select Privacy and Safety. Then check the checkbox that says Protect My Tweets. Scroll down to the bottom and click Save Changes.
How do you temporarily deactivate twitter?
How to deactivate Twitter using a desktop web browser
- Open Twitter in a browser.
- Log in to your account if needed. …
- Click the three-dotted “More” icon in the left-side Twitter bar. …
- Select “Settings and privacy” from the menu that appears.
- Choose “Account.” …
- Click “Deactivate your account.”
When you delete a Tweet does it disappear?
When you delete a Tweet, it is removed from your account, the timeline of any accounts that follow you, and from Twitter search results on twitter.com, Twitter for iOS, and Twitter for Android. Retweets of the deleted Tweet will also be removed on twitter.com, Twitter for iOS, and Twitter for Android.
How long does twitter keep deleted accounts?
Does twitter delete old tweets?
Old Tweets are never lost, but cannot always be displayed.
How do you delete an old twitter account?
- Sign in to twitter.com on the web.
- Go to your Account settings and click on ‘Deactivate my account’ at the bottom of the page.
- Read the account deactivation information. Click ‘Okay, fine, deactivate account. ‘
- Enter your password when prompted and verify that you want to deactivate your account.
Is my twitter account permanently suspended?
Twitter says when it decides to permanently suspend an account they will notify the user about the abuse violations. … The referenced account has been permanently suspended for repeated violations of Twitter Rules specifically our Hateful Conduct policy and Abusive Behaviour policy.
Why is twitter suspended?
Abusive Tweets or behavior: We may suspend an account if it has been reported to us as violating our Rules surrounding abuse. When an account engages in abusive behavior, like sending threats to others or impersonating other accounts, we may suspend it temporarily or, in some cases, permanently.
Why can I not DM someone on twitter?
Why am I having trouble sending Direct Messages? There is an account limit of 1,000 Direct Messages sent per day. Once you reach this limit, you can’t send any more Direct Messages for the day. If you are sending Direct Messages to accounts that do not follow you, you may need to verify your phone number.
How do you recover deleted DMs on twitter 2020?
It turns out that despite showing that the message was deleted, Twitter still stores all those DMs dating back years. Folks can access this simply by downloading the archived data on their account from Twitter. Saini confirms that even messages sent to and from deleted or suspended accounts are still accessible.
How do you Unsend a DM on twitter 2020?
You can unsend Twitter DMs — even the ones you’ve received. Here’s how.
Fun fact: Twitter will.
- Click on the gear icon.
- Select Direct Messages.
- Find the offending DM.
- Click on the trash can.