3 Answers. You actually deactivate it, and once you do that all your comments, likes, shares, post and everything associated with your profile disappears like it never existed. But your message conversation will still be visible on your friend’s inbox just there won’t be your profile picture and link to it.
Will deactivating Facebook delete my posts?
Deactivating your account does not fully delete it. When you deactivate your account, Facebook saves all of your settings, photos, and information in case you decide to reactivate your account. … If you’d like to save photos and posts from your account, click Download Info. Then click Delete Account.
What do my friends see when I deactivate Facebook?
If you deactivate your account your profile won’t be visible to other people on Facebook and people won’t be able to search for you. Some information, such as messages you sent to friends, may still be visible to others. Any comments that you’ve made on other person’s profile will remain.
Do you lose photos when deactivating Facebook?
If you deactivate your account, we save the information in your account (ex: friends, photos, interests), just in case you want to come back to Facebook at some point. If you choose to reactivate your account, the information on your profile will be there when you come back.
Can people post on your wall when your account is deactivated?
A certain amount of information contained within the Facebook network disappears the moment you deactivate your account. Any posts you made to the walls of your friends remain there. However, they won’t be able to get to your account by clicking on your name anymore.
Can I hide my Facebook account without deactivating it?
How Do I ‘Hide’ My Personal Facebook Account?
- Login to your Facebook profile, and click the arrow in the upper right corner of the Facebook page. Then, click “Settings”.
- In the menu on the left, click “Privacy”. …
- Under the “Your Activity” section, edit “Who can see your future posts?” and change it to “Only me”.
How long can I leave my Facebook account deactivated before it’s deleted?
Facebook Waits 14 Days Before Deleting Account
The social network said there is no limit on how long a user can keep her account deactivated. But if a Facebook user really wants to make the separation permanent, she can choose to delete the account altogether.
Can someone message me on Facebook when I deactivate?
If you had a Facebook account and deactivated it, using Messenger won’t reactivate your Facebook account, and your Facebook friends can still message you. To use Messenger after you deactivate your Facebook account: … Sign in to Messenger with the same email and password that you used for your Facebook account.
Does Facebook still track you if you deactivate?
Even when your account is deactivated, the social network continues collecting data about your online activities. All that data gets sent back to Facebook and is tied to your account while it’s in this state of limbo. … Facebook says it only removes all of your data if you permanently delete your account.
Why is my Facebook account still visible after deactivation?
Some information, like messages you sent, may still be visible to others. We save the information in your account (ex: friends, photos, interests), just in case you want to come back to Facebook at some point. If you choose to reactivate your account, the information on your profile will be there when you come back.
How do I deactivate my Facebook but keep my pictures?
It’s really easy to both delete your Facebook account and save an archive of all the data on your profile.
- Go to your Settings menu on Facebook.
- Go to the General section.
- Click “Download a copy of your Facebook data” at the bottom.
- Click “Start My Archive.”
Can I reactivate my Facebook account after 2 years?
Facebook automatically saves all data for deactivated accounts so that you can easily reactivate the account if you change your mind and want to use the social network again. Facebook doesn’t remove old account information after any set time, so you can reactivate Facebook a year after closing the account.
Does Facebook keep your photos forever?
“Facebook claims that it deletes all the content you’ve generated, like your photos, posts, and profile info, but deleting your account will not delete things that your friends have posted about you,” Gebhart says. … “Beyond that content, Facebook also keeps log files after you delete your account,” she says.
When you deactivate your account Do your comments disappear?
4 Deactivation Versus Deletion
When you deactivate your account, Facebook will remove your Timeline and related information. This means comments you’ve made on your own posts will disappear, but comments you’ve made on others’ posts remain visible.
How do you tell if Facebook account is deleted or deactivated?
The best way is to go to the message conversation you’ve had with this person. If you see that his profile picture disappeared or just shows a default facebook icon and it says that you cannot reply to the conversation plus you cannot search this person’s profile, then the user definitely deactivated his account.
What happens when someone deactivates Facebook?
When you deactivate your account, Facebook hides your Timeline, photos, profile and other content from the rest of the site; it’s like you’re not even there. Friends can still see messages you sent them before you deactivated your account, but they cannot respond to them.